Skip to content

Guest Blogging

February 5, 2010

I’m guest blogging today at History Undressed on the medieval rise of Sacred Gardens. Feel free to drop by at http://www.historyundressed.blogspot.com/
Happy Writing!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 5:10 pm

    Mary, that Latin quote is priceless. I knew my high school Latin (back in Medieval Times) would come in handy some day .
    Re. hiatuses (is that a word?)–
    I took one for almost six years and am just now getting back into the swing of writing. Maybe some writer/Grandmas are more disciplined than I am and can create stories while raising an infant, but it took all my energy–creative and otherwise–to keep up with my son’s baby while he coped with his recent divorce, a hostile ex-wife, no finances, no place to live (so he lived with us), lost job, and trying to accept the fact that he was no longer a full-time dad to his three children. It was a stressful, often heart-breaking time but also the greatest learning experience of my life. I learned to trust; my faith grew; and I learned a lot about unconditional love. My son is re-married now, settled and happy. My little grandson is seven and the joy of my life.
    I no longer see him every day, but when I do, the special bond between us is very evident. And I’m enjoying writing as I haven’t in many, many years. The words flow more easily than they used to. I know what I want to write and I’m doing it. All that faith and trust I learned about is being put to good use now when I sit down at the computer. I feel I’m a better person than I was, and I think I’m a better writer. We’ll see. I do know I wouldn’t trade those difficult years for anything in the world.

    • February 8, 2010 5:25 pm

      Paula: Your are sooo right! I’ve come through my experience with a newfound strength and faith. I also have a metal reinforced spine. Since they say we need a strong backbone for this business, I may have come out ahead.
      It is so wonderful tha you could be there for your son and grandson. Family takes on a different meaning when faced with such trials. I’m proud of you for sticking by yours and getting back to your writing now.

      • February 8, 2010 5:38 pm

        Wow! I’ll bet you have fun going through security at airports! I guess a lot of people would say those years–yours and mine–were wasted, but they would be so wrong. We’re writers and if you’re like me, you have to write to be happy. But first, you have to be true to yourself, and that’s deeper even than the writing. I couldn’t have NOT done what I did, any more than you could have given up through your hardest times. And I know we’ve both come out ahead. I wish you every success with your writing and look forward to your next book.

Leave a Reply

